Author Topic: Calculation of spin population  (Read 6145 times)

sebastian.miranda

Calculation of spin population
« on: August 31, 2010, 10:09:20 PM »
Hi,
I'm studing a reaction coordinate for a bond dissociation (metal-carbon bond, closed shell system). I'm performing the reaction coordinate using cartessian coordinates (fixing the corresponding spatial coordinates of the atoms involved in the bond, and with an unrestricted-DFT method). The problem is that when I calculate the spin populations along the scan, they are always zero (using TMv5.9), but when I used the TMv5.8 I obtained spin populations different from zero and they are very reasonable (close to one at long bond distances). I am studying the spin populations calculated from NPA analysis. I calculated the geometries with both versions separatelly (obtaining two different wave functions for each point of the scan) but I calculated the spin population with TMv5.9 (because as long as I know this method is not implemented in TMv5.8 ), and I obtained the results described above.

As a test I tried to reoptimize the geometries obtained with TMv5.9 using TMv5.8 and then I recalculated the NPA population. For cases where the energy decreased significatively the spin population was different from zero (but they were not reasonable with values of the order of 10E-5 for every atom even at long bond distances) and for study cases when no change on the energy was observed after the reoptimization the spin population remained zero.