Author Topic: DSCF No Exchange Energy  (Read 2319 times)

cwoods7

DSCF No Exchange Energy
« on: February 16, 2024, 05:42:06 PM »
Hello,

I am fairly new to TURBOMOLE and am trying to run a test calculation on hydrogen for HF and DFT methods. I am trying to extract the exchange energy and the coulomb energy from the dscf calculation, but it is not appearing for me. Is there any special thing I should put in the control file so that it shows me these energies? Or is there something I should look for in the output file? They seem to be present in ridft, but not in dscf. I have already done a bunch of calculations for various systems using dscf and it would be a shame if I have to re-run these calculations especially since I have the total energies anyway. Any help would be much appreciated.

chris.hol

Re: DSCF No Exchange Energy
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2024, 06:13:16 PM »
Hi,

in dscf, Coulomb + Exchange energies (and matrices!) are calculated at the same time using 4-center electron repulsion integrals. Therefore, they cannot be easily separated. You can extract the combined Coulomb + Exchange energy from the "2e-ENERGY" by subtracting the exchange-correlation energy ("Exc"). If you want to further separate them, an easy workaround is to run a single ridft iteration. For this, just change "$scfiterlimit" to 1, add $rij and run ridft, preferably in a separate directory. This will then yield the converged Coulomb + exchange energies at the dscf density.

Best regards,
Christof

cwoods7

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2024, 09:11:31 PM »
Thank you Christof!

I am still a little confused about the subtraction from the "2e-Energy". I have used dscf for some more complex systems and both the "Exc" and exchange terms are absent. Essentially, all I am looking for is the Coulomb energy to do a density analysis. Is there a way to just extract the coulomb energy for dscf of both HF and DFT methods? If not, I will try to run the single ridft for all of my calculations.

Best,